5th January 2024

Burton AC 2023 In Review

We cannot possibly cover all our successes over the 2023 season, but here is just a quick review of just some of those great achievements!

2023 was another amazing year which saw the club celebrate it’s 140th year and held it’s very own Anniversary games! Which included a great races against a penny farthing.

We also celebrated the 140th Anniversary at our Awards Night in November setting out our successes.

Thank you to everyone who attended and a huge well done to our award winners and special guests Bekah Walton Deb Cash and Derbyshire Institute Of Sport

Special mention to our 2023 Hall of fame inductees Cris Latham and Jaime Walker
Female athlete of the year – Isabelle Fellows
Male athlete of the year – Ewan Withnall
Coach of the year – Jaime Walker
Official of the year – Laura Allen
Hall of fame 2023 Male inductee – Jaime walker
Chairman’s award – Callum Stowell
Endurance trophy – Saffron Bowley
Sprints trophy – Chelsea Bogdanova
Phil Goulding Jumps trophy – Grace Long
Throws trophy – Zara Acton
Special recognition – Jackie Acton
Paul smith senior men’s – Ben Acton
Sue withnall senior women’s – Alice Robinson
U20 men – Dami Owalabi
U20 woman – Maisie Trueman
U17 men – kaiden Ramsey
U17 woman – Isla Swindlehurst
U15 boy – Sammy mccafferty
U15 Girl – Isabelle Gould
U13 boy – Sam Roberts
U13 Girl – Emilia Bland
U11 boy – Lucas walker
U11 girl – Zola Signori
Highest ranked junior male – Ewan Withnall
Highest ranked junior female – Isabelle Fellows
Judy Kelsall most improved – Oliver Scattergood
Ralph boddice training award – Chelsea Bogdanova
Burton Ac Service award – Angela Fellows
Hall of fame 2023 Female inductee – Cris Latham
Andy Farr master of the year – Judy Kelsall
Female master record breaker – Clair Zawada
Male master record breaker – Jon Dumelow
Highest ranked male master – Stewart Cawson
Highest ranked female master – Nicola long
London Marathon – Gareth Morgan
Michael Kelsall trophy – Sally Higgs
Carl Udall road racing trophy – Jack shorten
The Stewart Canner XC Cup – Lewis Boyce
Ladies cross country – Caitlin McCarney
Parkrun challenge female – Maisie Trueman
Parkrun challenge male – Ewan Withnall
Parkrun challenge age graded – Ewan Withnall
Winter league – Ewan Withnall
Martyn Naughton trophy – Ewan Withnall
Kevin Lovelock record breaker trophy – Jack poxon

Jaime Walker – Club Chairman and Throws Coach has had an amazing season, not only being chosen for Burton AC Coach of the Year Award and was inducted in to the Hall of Fame, he was also nominated by his throws squad for West Midlands Coach of the Year and against tough competition won that title for 2023.

Our senior athletes (including U17 and U20 age groups) won the Midlands Senior League Trophy and gained promotion.

There were huge successes by all our Masters Athletes…

Graham Lamb (Chairman of the Midland Vets League as well as our endurance coach) presented Judy our Club Secretary with Female athlete of the year in recognition of her performances in the league this season. She won all her W70 races and scoring well in other events with top 10 age rankings in many events. Judy has now been competing in the league for 36 years.

Amazing performances from all our junior athletes with 12 athletes being selected to represent the County at the English Schools Championships and 5 achieving the standards to compete at the National Championships, both were held at Alexander Stadium. Ewan Withnall achieving Bronze at the English Schools and Gold at the National Championships.

Three athletes were also selected to join the England Athletics Youth Talent Programme 23-25, only a small number number of top athletes in England are accepted onto the Programme each year and Katie Brant, Kaiden Ramsay and Isabelle Fellows were selected. 

We had work completed on our international standard throws cage, brand new stadium seating and also a new EDM measuring machine this will allow us to host even better and higher standard throws competitions.

Processed with MOLDIV

Back in March, 12 athletes donned county vests for the UK Inter Counties XC championships. With all the entrants selected by their counties, this is the highest standard cross country event of the year with the best runners from Scotland, Wales and Ireland also taking part.